All About Chinatown | Reviews
7095
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-7095,edgt-cpt-1.0.2,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,homa-ver-1.4.1, vertical_menu_with_scroll,smooth_scroll,blog_installed,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive
 

Reviews

All About Chinatown Tours is the #1 Chinatown Walking Tour on Trip Advisor and Yelp. Don’t take our word for it, read what our guests say!

fodors

“Excellent educational tour”
cwhelan60, visited August 2019

Guides Lynn Eichinger & Jim Adams were very gracious and knowledgeable informative guides and hosts. highly recommended!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#0,3



“Great experience with Lynn”
Indrayani W, visited July 2019

I had a wonderful experience taking the Chinatown food and walking tour. Our tour guide was Lynn. She was great! This was my first guided tour that I enjoyed thoroughly. It was well managed and informative. I would certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to experience a wonderful time in Chinatown.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r688479191-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html



“This was my 3rd time and it was as brilliant as the first”
Coach-G-volleyball, visited June 2019

I’ve been taking these tours with the same guide for over 15 years. She never ages but her tours are always fun, informative, and so much more engaging than any other tour I’ve done in San Francisco and one of the best I’ve ever attended around the world.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#20,1



“Highlight to our trip”
dancer1973, visited May 2019

Chinatown walking tour – for me, this was the highlight of the trip. Linda Lee was our tour guide, and she was hands down the best tour guide I have ever encountered. She immediately related with the girls, she was funny, but no nonsense. Everyone loved her and and everyone loved the things she talked about. I wish we could have scheduled it at a different time because it did take a bit to rally our girls to go after all of the walking we did for the bridging, but once on the tour, I didn’t see or hear a single complaint. Everyone was mesmerized!!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#30,0



“Great Walking Tour of ChinaTown”
Wunderkatzen, visited May 2019

Very easy walking tour packed with lots of interesting information. Beth was a fantastic guide, leading us through the streets to each of the tour highlights. The handout of shops to visit after the tour was much appreciated. We enjoyed seeing the Temple of Ma-Tsu as well as the Buddhist paper shop, pharmacy, the lively market, the Fortune Cookie Factory, Waverly Street, as well as all the murals in the neighborhood and distinctive street lamps, etc. We enjoyed the lunch with the small group too – there were 8 of us and that made for just the right number of people for the table – good conversation with tasty food. Highly recommend.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r676655277-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html



“Excellent tour”
Phaza, visited April 2019

An excellent introduction to the history of Chinatown and to Chinese people in San Francisco. Well informed guide who really knows the area. Energetic and funny Linda connects with her customers and is able to link local history to her clients background making facts immediately relatable. the lunch option is particularly good as the venue not only has excellent food but is quiet and allows one to continue to ask questions and get answers. I learnt a lot and enjoyed myself in the process. An absolute must for all those visiting San Franscisco!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#30,6



“Armadillo in San Fran”
Tat2dgigi, visited March 2019

This was a great walking tour. Linda, our guide (and owner of the tour company) was our guide. She had a big group but made it a point to ask everyone were they were from and everyone’s name. She remembered who each of us were thru out the tour. She walked us thru Chinatown and would stop along the way to tell us history of the people, how they got there and about the importance of the buildings. When going thru the market, she was telling us about the unique foods that get consumed there. She was trying to describe one in particular and was talking about it having a beak and claws.When we finally got around to seeing it, my husband and I had a good laugh(being from Texas and all) It was an Armadillo. We explained to her that it had a snout, not a beak. You may hear this story on your tour. The place we had lunch was nice and the pace was slow. We did not feel rushed at all. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for a nice paced, personable tour of Chinatown. Thank you again Linda for a great tour.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#40,0



“Engaging and fun!”
Baywalk827, visited March 2019

Linda Lee has been giving my 6th grade students Chinatown tours for 12+ years and she’s first rate and keeps getting better. We had lunch and then Linda took my 31 person group on a fun engaging tour. Aspects of the tour positively touched each of my students in a personal way as they though about Chinatown history and life experiences compared to their own. Highly recommended!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#30,9



“What a Wonderful Way to Learn & Wander Around Chinatown”
LauraL o, visited February 2019

What a wonderful tour of Chinatown! It was fun, informative and our guide Beth was terrific. I would recommend to anyone thinking of joining up.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r653513305-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html



“Great Walking Tour”
Diana W, visited February 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour with Beth and Chinatown Tours. She provided interesting facts as she navigated our group through Chinatown. The Dim Sum lunch
was amazing and so much food! We would definitely recommend this tour.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r653209281-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html



“Interesting and Fun Tour!
TDGN, visited January 2019

The tour is great for all ages! My kids 6 and 9 loved it and my mother in law and myself truly enjoyed it too! Lynn and Jim are so knowledgeable, kind, and makes the tour interesting and funny.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#50,5



“Only way to really get it!”
Stvchurch, visited December 2018

We booked this on Christmas Eve for Christmas Day, and boy am I glad we did it! Lynn and Jim knew the ins-and-outs of things we wouldn’t have even known to ask about. There was a little something for everyone as we visited a temple, watch fortune cookies be made, did a tea tasting, tried a bbq pork roll, and finally had a wonderful lunch! Hard to believe we did so much in so little time… definitely worth the money and the best way to see another way of life in a great American city!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#50,8



“Great Experience!”
Jet783660, visited September 2018

Since my wife was away with her friends this weekend I had to find things to keep the kids busy this weekend and away from technology. Today we went to Chinatown San Francisco and went on a tour with All About Chinatown with the owner Linda Lee. Tour was great with lots of info regarding the history of Chinatown SF, life in Chinatown (current and past), and she also shared her experiences with life in Chinatown. We even went by the fortune cookie factory which I remember my grandmother buying the scrap which was part of the cookie making process… these were about the size of a quarter… they now sell them as flat cookies I spent considerable time in the summers with my grandmother in Chinatown and it brought back a lot of great memories. I remember eating the squab/ pigeon my grandmother would make which she killed with her hands , going up on the rooftops and running around building to building since the buildings were connected, standing in line for free food which was given away lower income Chinese, eating at the various restaurants and staying with my grandmother in her 200 square foot apartment for the summer. Those were good times. I was happy to be able to share a little of my childhood and our culture with my “banana” kids today since their pretty much white on the inside and yellow on the outside If your ever interested in learning about Chinatown SF giving Linda Lee a call… great way to spend 3 hours. Linda was born in raised in Chinatown and gives a great perspective of Chinatown. We opted for the lunch option which was good also and the company and other tourists were great.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#70,1



“Highly recommend”
cheflovr09, visited September 2018

My mom and I were going to explore China town by ourselves. Thankfully I came across this tour on a brochure. We would have missed out on the history and definitely would have gotten lost. Alan our tour guide was amazing and the experience was awesome. We originally weren’t going to do the lunch but we changed our minds. I’m also glad for that. Next time I visit San Francisco I’ll definitely be coming back to China Town.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/OwnerResponse-g60713-d447045-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#70,4


“I cannot say enough about how fantastic this tour was”
Lisa F., Redmond, WA, visited March 2018
Linda Lee is the best of the best when it comes to tour guides. I, along with two other chaperones had the pleasure of coming up with a San Francisco Culture trip – and ended up booking this tour. This was easily one of the highlights, if not THE highlight of our four days in San Fran, hands down the best tour we had (and we had a bunch)!
https://www.yelp.com/biz/all-about-chinatown-tours-san-francisco?hrid=SP9f5T-kkPvJVz3eib1wJg&utm_campaign=www_review_share_popup&utm_medium=copy_link

“Highlight of Our SF Visit”
Janie H, visited September 2017
This tour exceeded my every expectation. Linda provided interesting and relevant information about Chinatown’s origin and history, and also included her perspective on having been born and raised there. I especially appreciated hearing about her Chinese schooling. It was fascinating! The tour was perfectly paced and fun. I also highly recommend participating in the dim sum lunch. The dishes were attractive, plentiful and delicious, and it was so enjoyable to sit down with Linda and our fellow tour members for conversation and this beautiful meal. I began the tour with a cursory interest in China but after spending this time with Linda, added the country to my list of travel. The tour was THAT good! Thank you, Linda for sharing your knowledge and experience with us.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r523208944-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html

“Very interesting tour!”
Mrs.Mister, Santa Cruz, CA, visited July 2017
We chose this tour among the many options in Chinatown and we were not disappointed. Regina was an excellent guide. She showed us all of the best places for food, gifts, etc. She shared a lot of first person experiences that really made history come alive. Highly recommend!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r502644402-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#

“We LOVED it!”
Noelle P., Phoenix, AZ, reviewed July 2017
We LOVED it!! Regina was so much fun! She made our trip to SF worth it! So glad we went on the tour. We were able to navigate Chinatown on our own the next day. She really made history come alive and it was fun getting to hear about her childhood. I would definitely recommend this tour!

“Great response and fantastic customer service” reviewed April 2017
My wife and I and our son are visiting San Francisco later this year. We contacted Linda Lee to ask her if she take do a private tour for us. Unfortunately she is away on the day we required. However she did not just say sorry can’t do it, she very kindly sent us suggestions for a self guided tour, a list of recommended places to visit, interesting shops and places to eat. A great example of fantastic customer service.

“Engaging and informative tour led by Chinatown native and historian!” 
Deborah C, visited 2017

Linda Lee a chinatown native and tour guide for 30 plus years gave our small group a fun, informative and lively tour. She easily engaged two seniors, a mom, a 9 yr old and two teens! Not an easy feat. She was prepared with so much great information on the history and current day life in chinatwn and used her personal experience to bring it all alive. We all loved the chinese food market and the fortune cookie factory. I did not include lunch as i was meeting a friend at a sichuan place, but linda gave me directions. I highly rate this tour, fun, informative and a great value!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r462005127-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“Enlightening and entertaining for kids(!) and adults”
SWH166, San Jose, California, visited  December 2016

The four kids ages 9 – 14 got so much more out of is that we five adults could have imagined. The highlight of the kids entire San Francisco visit was the tea tasting (which tied in their opinion with The Lion King). They went home, drank tea and talked about ying and yang. Our jaws dropped. Our guide, Jim Adams, talked to the kids as equals. We all learned about the history in a way we had never heard before. The Fortune Cookie factory was a hit, of course, but they were also interested in the praying in the temples. The dim sum luncheon was partially dim sum and partially standard Chinese food, but it was all good. For those of us who were locals, we wished we had done this a long time ago.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r448639495-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#

“A really interesting and humourously informative Tour”
BGPMcM, Sheffield, United Kingdom, visited August 2016

Having visited San Francisco several times between us, my partner and I were eager to know more about an area of the city we had passed through but never informed ourselves about. Linda was an excellent and efficient tour guide. Her wit and humour combined with first hand, in-depth knowledge of the area made the Tour fascinating from beginning to end. We could have listened to Linda for hours, but after two hours left informed, entertained and uplifted by an excellent experience and a wonderful guide.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r408336192-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#

“You ain’t seen Chinatown SF if you have not taken this tour!”
Me-Like-World, Riverdale, New York, visited August 2016

Awesome tour! Awesome guide!
We took this tour with Linda on a Sunday morning, and really did not know what to expect. Party of 4: two adults and two teens (15 & 11). All of which had tremendous time. The content was interesting to all of us – Linda kept all of us interested, sharing details about the history of Chinatown, what makes it unique, the folks and lives of the community members, and much more. She also takes you to places you would not typically go into (Chinese medicine/pharmacy, various temples, etc.)
Highly recommended for all age groups, and for tourists who are interested in more than a superficial walk through the streets.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r406808965-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#

“Great walking tour and lunch!”
Docinden, Denver, Colorado, visited July 2016
Our family of four participated in a walking tour of Chinatown with Linda Lee on our last day of our trip to SF. Kids, 15 and 11, loved it – Linda makes it fun and interesting. She tells the history through anecdotes and brings it to life. Kids loved the tromp through the Chinese medicine shop and the Fortune cookie factory. We also stayed for lunch with Linda at the end of the tour and had one of our best meals in SF – very worthwhile!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r399208923-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“What else can I say….”
VCinNOLA, New Orleans, Louisiana, visited July 2016
We participated in this tour with our 16 year old son, and guess what? We, including our son, had a great time. Linda Lee was funny, knowledgeable, engaging, entertaining, and by the end of the tour I felt like she was a family friend. We learned so much about Chinatown. We visited a Buddhist temple, a grocery, a fortune cookie factory, a store that caters to the ancestor worship, a school, and we watched a funeral procession. We got to see what Chinatown was like on a busy Sunday morning. We signed up for the dim sum lunch and I’m glad we did. After walking around for two hours, it was good to sit down and relax in a quiet restaurant. We had a chance to get to know the other participants in our tour group. It was very interesting to hear stories from people living in different parts of this country and from around the world. If you want to tour Chinatown, I highly recommend Linda’s tour. You will not regret it.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r397002346-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Wonderful Experience!”
AnnML7, visited June 2016
I was on the same tour with the Girl Scouts, and it was absolutely wonderful! Lots of history and culture were included in each of the different stops. Linda does a great job – she’s very knowledgeable, entertaining and engaging. We had a large group, and she remembered everyone’s name and where they were from after our initial introductions – a lovely, personal touch to a great tour. You will truly enjoy this walking tour, including the delicious Dim Sum lunch – I highly recommend it!
Ann Marie L.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r380997092-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html

 


“Invaluable Learning Experience for Classroom Teachers”
Sarah L, visited April 2014
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough for classroom teachers! Linda is an exceptionally knowledgable, energetic and engaging guide. She held our boisterous crowd of 18 second graders in her thrall all morning and opened the wonders of Chinatown around them. When I let LInda know about the Laurence Yep book that our class was reading to help “set the stage” for our tour of Chinatown, she took it upon herself to read the book on her own before our date; she wove historical details and events from the book into our tour, only deepening our learners’ immersion in our shared experience. My kids absorbed every moment of our experience in Linda’s expert care, and we practically flew home on the excitement she generated.
I look forward to building even more preparation into next year’s preview to our tour, and I am already looking forward to it. It was, without question, one of the more valuable field trips I have shared with a class, and I encourage teachers of any age to rely upon this invaluable resource to deepen and contextualize study of immigration and Chinese culture.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r201562900-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“Class Trip To Chinatown”
bberlinstephens, Berkeley, California, visited May 2016
This was an awesome field trip! I took about 20 middle school (7th and 8th grade) students on a tour of Chinatown. The tour was the perfect length to hold their interest (1.5 hours). We made a great number of stops and saw a wide array of sites including murals, a temple, the fortune cookie factory, and many shops. Our tour guide, Alan Fong, was fantastic. He told us many interesting facts and personal details about his own life. I learned SO much on this tour and I am sure my students did as well. He was a perfect tour guide!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r376134186-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Interesting and educational tour of Chinatown”
Marilyn L, Fort Wayne, Indiana, visited September 2015
We really enjoyed our Chinatown walking tour with Dave Jung, a retired attorney, who grew up and lives still in the neighborhood. I gained a lot of respect for the Chinese immigrants who came there and raised their families in very crowded conditions. As Dave said, they found a way to get things done–without asking for hel, I might add.. The tour of the market was an eye opener, and we enjoyed the herb shop, the temple, and lunch where I experienced my first taste of dim sum–quite excellent!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r310299629-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“The best way to experience Chinatown!!!”
Jacquie K, Mill Valley, California visited February 2015
Many thanks to our tour guides, Lynn and Jim, for a delightful start to our day! My Auntie and I thoroughly enjoyed the Chinatown tour and lunch (highly recommend). Our guides were informative and thoughtful from start to finish. We came away with some wonderful memories and treasures. This is the best way to experience Chinatown!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r253120564-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“Senior Group Tour of Chinatown”
Brenda J, visited November 2013
We were a group of 50 Senior Citizens that wanted to visit Chinatown and our experience was amazing! Our guides Stan Gee, Lynn Eichinger & Jim Adams were exceptional and shared so many interesting stories about the history and culture of the residents. The guides paced their tour to accommodate our guests without disruption to the tour flow. We saw so many things we never would have on our own. We would all highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn more about Chinatown in a fun and friendly environment. From the time we booked this tour with Linda Lee to the day we went, the entire event was professional and a highlight of our tour to the City.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r184066192-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“So glad we took this tour”
Cynthia F, visited September 2013
This tour was so informative and interesting that I cannot imagine having experienced Chinatown without it. Our guide, Beth, not only related the history of the neighborhood and the Chinese in San Francisco, she gave us a very good sense of life in this place now. Seeing the market, the pharmacy, and especially the store with the paper goods that are burned in honor of deceased relatives were all experiences we would not have had if we had just walked through the main tourist thoroughfare. Even my teenager said it was very good. This tour is a very good value too.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r177942191-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Great Tour”
sammybo, Texas, visited March 2014
When I asked those in my group what was the most interesting aspect of our trip, the reply was THIS TOUR! Linda had a group of high schoolers so Beth was our tour provider. Beth has a genuine passion for Chinatown. Learned so much about this part of the city. It was an easy walk and Beth kept us entertained with many sights. Highly recommend this tour.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r197742962-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“What a Great Tour”
Gwhincc, visited August 2013
My husband and I consider ourselves fortunate to have had Dave Jung as our tour leader. I believe he must be the unofficial mayor of Chinatown…he knows everyone. We experienced all of the promised sights and stops for the tour plus heard many inside stories about Dave’s family and the Chinatown neighborhood. I would recommend this tour for adults and teens.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r174241813-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html


“Interesting and Informative”
bonggamom, Palo Alto, California, visited March 2013
I chaperoned my daughter’s 6th grade class on their Chinatown tour (tour only, no lunch), led by Lynn from All About Chinatown Tours. Lynn was excellent, and kept all the kids engaged with fun facts about Chinatown and Chinese culture. The tour stars and ends at Portsmouth Square in San Francisco’s Chinatown. We walked the streets and saw examples of Chinatown architecture, a Taoist temple, the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie factory, the Chinatown food markets, apothecaries and stores. The time absolutely flew by!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r155908707-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


5 Stars on Yelp by Beth B. Berkeley, California on 5/24/2016
Excellent tour with a great tour guide. Took a middle school group here on a field trip. The tour guide, Alan Fong, was engaging and had a wealth of information to share – even the adults on the trip learned quite a bit! The length of the tour and the variety of stops was perfect. Highly recommend to schools, children, and adults!


5 Stars on Yelp by D T., San Francisco, California on 12/7/210
Our tour–led by Lynn–was amazing.  Lynn had an encyclopedic knowledge of Chinatown and Chinese American culture, and conveyed a ton of information in an entertaining and interesting way.  I was worried about my 6-year-old becoming bored on the tour, but he was entranced.  I’m a Bay Area local and hadn’t heard of the tour until visitors from Texas insisted we take it, and I am so happy we went–this was one of the very best things I have done as a local!  I can’t recommend it highly enough.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Chuck K, on March 2016

Jim was a great tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable regarding history, customs and specifics. After 55 years of tromping around San Francisco and Chinatown, I learned new facts about Chinatown as well as The City. Our group was most pleased to participate in this tour.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Lisa B, on June 2015

Alan was amazing. As a Chinese American that grew up nearby he had amazing back stories on the history and culture of the area. So glad we booked this.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Karen S, on August 2014

We had a GREAT time with Alan! Tour was very informative and lunch was delish! We had the good fortune to have Alan all to ourselves at lunch as some of our tour members left early! We talked well after lunch was over. Only downside for me was the heat! Of course we would come on the hottest day of 2014 so far!!!


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Joyce D, on January 2014

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide Beth immediately made our diverse group feel like one big happy family — which was heartfelt since it was Christmas Day! It was a great mix of history and current day exploration. The stories she told about how Chinatown came to be such a unique SF gem were riveting and inspiring! Loved all the stops — especially to see fortune cookies actually being made and where live ducks, rabbits, frogs and turtles are sold. We even visited a Buddhist temple and learned how to throw the sticks to answer our questions! Best of all, I shopped for Christmas dinner and brought home one of those hanging barbeque ducks that I always wanted to try — it was delicious! I highly recommend this tour with Beth, she’s so knowledgeable and she clearly loves sharing all her insights.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Elaine C, on May 2013

Lynn was a wonderful guide and very knowledgeable!, Totally enjoyed the tour and the beautiful San Francisco day. Saw parts of Chinatown I didn’t know existed Ended with a wonderful dim sum lunch!!


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Barbara H, on July 2012

A terrific experience! “Uncle Gee” gave us a wonderful sense of the Chinese culture in S.F. combined with an intelligent grasp of facts and a gentle, humorous way of connecting with the group. He included the youngsters very well.


 

“Engaging and informative tour led by Chinatown native and historian!”
Deborah C, visited February 2017
Linda Lee a chinatown native and tour guide for 30 plus years gave our small group a fun, informative and lively tour. She easily engaged two seniors, a mom, a 9 yr old and two teens! Not an easy feat. She was prepared with so much great information on the history and current day life in chinatwn and used her personal experience to bring it all alive. We all loved the chinese food market and the fortune cookie factory. I did not include lunch as i was meeting a friend at a sichuan place, but linda gave me directions. I highly rate this tour, fun, informative and a great value!

 

“Enlightening and entertaining for kids(!) and adults”
SWH166, San Jose, California, visited  December 2016
The four kids ages 9 – 14 got so much more out of is that we five adults could have imagined. The highlight of the kids entire San Francisco visit was the tea tasting (which tied in their opinion with The Lion King). They went home, drank tea and talked about ying and yang. Our jaws dropped. Our guide, Jim Adams, talked to the kids as equals. We all learned about the history in a way we had never heard before. The Fortune Cookie factory was a hit, of course, but they were also interested in the praying in the temples. The dim sum luncheon was partially dim sum and partially standard Chinese food, but it was all good. For those of us who were locals, we wished we had done this a long time ago.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r448639495-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#

“A really interesting and humourously informative Tour”
BGPMcM, Sheffield, United Kingdom, visited August 2016
Having visited San Francisco several times between us, my partner and I were eager to know more about an area of the city we had passed through but never informed ourselves about. Linda was an excellent and efficient tour guide. Her wit and humour combined with first hand, in-depth knowledge of the area made the Tour fascinating from beginning to end. We could have listened to Linda for hours, but after two hours left informed, entertained and uplifted by an excellent experience and a wonderful guide.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r411232137-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“You ain’t seen Chinatown SF if you have not taken this tour!”
Me-Like-World, Riverdale, New York, visited August 2016
Awesome tour! Awesome guide!
We took this tour with Linda on a Sunday morning, and really did not know what to expect. Party of 4: two adults and two teens (15 & 11). All of which had tremendous time. The content was interesting to all of us – Linda kept all of us interested, sharing details about the history of Chinatown, what makes it unique, the folks and lives of the community members, and much more. She also takes you to places you would not typically go into (Chinese medicine/pharmacy, various temples, etc.)
Highly recommended for all age groups, and for tourists who are interested in more than a superficial walk through the streets.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r406808965-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Great walking tour and lunch!”
Docinden, Denver, Colorado, visited July 2016
Our family of four participated in a walking tour of Chinatown with Linda Lee on our last day of our trip to SF. Kids, 15 and 11, loved it – Linda makes it fun and interesting. She tells the history through anecdotes and brings it to life. Kids loved the tromp through the Chinese medicine shop and the Fortune cookie factory. We also stayed for lunch with Linda at the end of the tour and had one of our best meals in SF – very worthwhile!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r406808965-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“What else can I say….”
VCinNOLA, New Orleans, Louisiana, visited July 2016
We participated in this tour with our 16 year old son, and guess what? We, including our son, had a great time. Linda Lee was funny, knowledgeable, engaging, entertaining, and by the end of the tour I felt like she was a family friend. We learned so much about Chinatown. We visited a Buddhist temple, a grocery, a fortune cookie factory, a store that caters to the ancestor worship, a school, and we watched a funeral procession. We got to see what Chinatown was like on a busy Sunday morning. We signed up for the dim sum lunch and I’m glad we did. After walking around for two hours, it was good to sit down and relax in a quiet restaurant. We had a chance to get to know the other participants in our tour group. It was very interesting to hear stories from people living in different parts of this country and from around the world. If you want to tour Chinatown, I highly recommend Linda’s tour. You will not regret it.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r406808965-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Wonderful Experience!”
AnnML7, visited June 2016
I was on the same tour with the Girl Scouts, and it was absolutely wonderful! Lots of history and culture were included in each of the different stops. Linda does a great job – she’s very knowledgeable, entertaining and engaging. We had a large group, and she remembered everyone’s name and where they were from after our initial introductions – a lovely, personal touch to a great tour. You will truly enjoy this walking tour, including the delicious Dim Sum lunch – I highly recommend it!
Ann Marie L.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r385826223-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Invaluable Learning Experience for Classroom Teachers”
Sarah L, visited April 2014
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough for classroom teachers! Linda is an exceptionally knowledgable, energetic and engaging guide. She held our boisterous crowd of 18 second graders in her thrall all morning and opened the wonders of Chinatown around them. When I let LInda know about the Laurence Yep book that our class was reading to help “set the stage” for our tour of Chinatown, she took it upon herself to read the book on her own before our date; she wove historical details and events from the book into our tour, only deepening our learners’ immersion in our shared experience. My kids absorbed every moment of our experience in Linda’s expert care, and we practically flew home on the excitement she generated.
I look forward to building even more preparation into next year’s preview to our tour, and I am already looking forward to it. It was, without question, one of the more valuable field trips I have shared with a class, and I encourage teachers of any age to rely upon this invaluable resource to deepen and contextualize study of immigration and Chinese culture.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r206542372-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Class Trip To Chinatown”
bberlinstephens, Berkeley, California, visited May 2016
This was an awesome field trip! I took about 20 middle school (7th and 8th grade) students on a tour of Chinatown. The tour was the perfect length to hold their interest (1.5 hours). We made a great number of stops and saw a wide array of sites including murals, a temple, the fortune cookie factory, and many shops. Our tour guide, Alan Fong, was fantastic. He told us many interesting facts and personal details about his own life. I learned SO much on this tour and I am sure my students did as well. He was a perfect tour guide!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r376134186-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Interesting and educational tour of Chinatown”
Marilyn L, Fort Wayne, Indiana, visited September 2015
We really enjoyed our Chinatown walking tour with Dave Jung, a retired attorney, who grew up and lives still in the neighborhood. I gained a lot of respect for the Chinese immigrants who came there and raised their families in very crowded conditions. As Dave said, they found a way to get things done–without asking for hel, I might add.. The tour of the market was an eye opener, and we enjoyed the herb shop, the temple, and lunch where I experienced my first taste of dim sum–quite excellent!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r310299629-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“The best way to experience Chinatown!!!”
Jacquie K, Mill Valley, California visited February 2015
Many thanks to our tour guides, Lynn and Jim, for a delightful start to our day! My Auntie and I thoroughly enjoyed the Chinatown tour and lunch (highly recommend). Our guides were informative and thoughtful from start to finish. We came away with some wonderful memories and treasures. This is the best way to experience Chinatown!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r259196336-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Senior Group Tour of Chinatown”
Brenda J, visited November 2013
We were a group of 50 Senior Citizens that wanted to visit Chinatown and our experience was amazing! Our guides Stan Gee, Lynn Eichinger & Jim Adams were exceptional and shared so many interesting stories about the history and culture of the residents. The guides paced their tour to accommodate our guests without disruption to the tour flow. We saw so many things we never would have on our own. We would all highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn more about Chinatown in a fun and friendly environment. From the time we booked this tour with Linda Lee to the day we went, the entire event was professional and a highlight of our tour to the City.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r184066192-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“So glad we took this tour”
Cynthia F, visited September 2013
This tour was so informative and interesting that I cannot imagine having experienced Chinatown without it. Our guide, Beth, not only related the history of the neighborhood and the Chinese in San Francisco, she gave us a very good sense of life in this place now. Seeing the market, the pharmacy, and especially the store with the paper goods that are burned in honor of deceased relatives were all experiences we would not have had if we had just walked through the main tourist thoroughfare. Even my teenager said it was very good. This tour is a very good value too.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r177942191-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Great Tour”
sammybo, Texas, visited March 2014
When I asked those in my group what was the most interesting aspect of our trip, the reply was THIS TOUR! Linda had a group of high schoolers so Beth was our tour provider. Beth has a genuine passion for Chinatown. Learned so much about this part of the city. It was an easy walk and Beth kept us entertained with many sights. Highly recommend this tour.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r201562900-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“What a Great Tour”
Gwhincc, visited August 2013
My husband and I consider ourselves fortunate to have had Dave Jung as our tour leader. I believe he must be the unofficial mayor of Chinatown…he knows everyone. We experienced all of the promised sights and stops for the tour plus heard many inside stories about Dave’s family and the Chinatown neighborhood. I would recommend this tour for adults and teens.
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r175559667-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


“Interesting and Informative”
bonggamom, Palo Alto, California, visited March 2013
I chaperoned my daughter’s 6th grade class on their Chinatown tour (tour only, no lunch), led by Lynn from All About Chinatown Tours. Lynn was excellent, and kept all the kids engaged with fun facts about Chinatown and Chinese culture. The tour stars and ends at Portsmouth Square in San Francisco’s Chinatown. We walked the streets and saw examples of Chinatown architecture, a Taoist temple, the Golden Gate Fortune Cookie factory, the Chinatown food markets, apothecaries and stores. The time absolutely flew by!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60713-d447045-r155908707-All_About_Chinatown_Tours-San_Francisco_California.html#


5 Stars on Yelp by Beth B. Berkeley, California on 5/24/2016
Excellent tour with a great tour guide. Took a middle school group here on a field trip. The tour guide, Alan Fong, was engaging and had a wealth of information to share – even the adults on the trip learned quite a bit! The length of the tour and the variety of stops was perfect. Highly recommend to schools, children, and adults!


5 Stars on Yelp by D T., San Francisco, California on 12/7/210
Our tour–led by Lynn–was amazing.  Lynn had an encyclopedic knowledge of Chinatown and Chinese American culture, and conveyed a ton of information in an entertaining and interesting way.  I was worried about my 6-year-old becoming bored on the tour, but he was entranced.  I’m a Bay Area local and hadn’t heard of the tour until visitors from Texas insisted we take it, and I am so happy we went–this was one of the very best things I have done as a local!  I can’t recommend it highly enough.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Chuck K, on March 2016

Jim was a great tour guide. Extremely knowledgeable regarding history, customs and specifics. After 55 years of tromping around San Francisco and Chinatown, I learned new facts about Chinatown as well as The City. Our group was most pleased to participate in this tour.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Lisa B, on June 2015

Alan was amazing. As a Chinese American that grew up nearby he had amazing back stories on the history and culture of the area. So glad we booked this.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Karen S, on August 2014

We had a GREAT time with Alan! Tour was very informative and lunch was delish! We had the good fortune to have Alan all to ourselves at lunch as some of our tour members left early! We talked well after lunch was over. Only downside for me was the heat! Of course we would come on the hottest day of 2014 so far!!!


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Joyce D, on January 2014

This was a fantastic tour! Our tour guide Beth immediately made our diverse group feel like one big happy family — which was heartfelt since it was Christmas Day! It was a great mix of history and current day exploration. The stories she told about how Chinatown came to be such a unique SF gem were riveting and inspiring! Loved all the stops — especially to see fortune cookies actually being made and where live ducks, rabbits, frogs and turtles are sold. We even visited a Buddhist temple and learned how to throw the sticks to answer our questions! Best of all, I shopped for Christmas dinner and brought home one of those hanging barbeque ducks that I always wanted to try — it was delicious! I highly recommend this tour with Beth, she’s so knowledgeable and she clearly loves sharing all her insights.


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Elaine C, on May 2013

Lynn was a wonderful guide and very knowledgeable!, Totally enjoyed the tour and the beautiful San Francisco day. Saw parts of Chinatown I didn’t know existed Ended with a wonderful dim sum lunch!!


Viator5Stars  VIATOR, Barbara H, on July 2012

A terrific experience! “Uncle Gee” gave us a wonderful sense of the Chinese culture in S.F. combined with an intelligent grasp of facts and a gentle, humorous way of connecting with the group. He included the youngsters very well.